US approves disaster declaration for 18 Oklahoma counties

The Associated Press - May 27, 2017 10:44 am

US approves disaster declaration for 18 Oklahoma counties
OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) – The Federal Emergency Management Agency has declared 18 Oklahoma counties as disaster areas following severe storms that pounded the state in April and early May.
Gov. Mary Fallin said Friday that the declaration means federal funding is available to the state, local governments, and rural electric cooperatives for infrastructure repairs and costs associated with responding to the storm that struck between April 28 and May 2.
The storms caused extensive flooding in eastern and central Oklahoma and widespread snow and high winds in the Oklahoma Panhandle. Three tornadoes occurred on April 28 and 29, including an EF-2 tornado near Cameron. The weather also caused treacherous travel conditions, road closures and power outages.
Damage assessments indicate the storm resulted in more than $12.7 million in infrastructure damage, debris and response costs.


Latest Stories

Beaned Little League batter rises to console upset pitcher

WACO, Texas (AP) — A Little League batter rose from a beaning to console the upset...

US striker Daryl Dike out 2 months with muscle tear

WEST BROMWICH, England (AP) — West Bromwich Albion striker Daryl Dike will be sidelined for at...

Tulsa Police Arrest Man In “Largest Fentanyl Bust In Department History”

TULSA, Okla. –  Tulsa police arrested a man in what they call “the largest Fentanyl bust in...