Ch. 6 - April 23, 2024 5:55 am

OU Campus

The University of Oklahoma announced it will award honorary degrees to four individuals in recognition of their achievements and service to others.

During the 2024 commencement, the university will confer honorary degrees to Toby Keith, the country music star from Moore who died in February, Tom E. Love, the founder of Love’s Travel Stops, Barbara Ann Posey Jones, of Atlanta, an OU alumnus whose participation in the Oklahoma City sit-ins helped advance desegregation across the country, and David Proctor, of Dallas, Texas, who was awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom for his work on the Apollo 11 and Apollo 13 spacecraft missions.

The university said Love and Jones will be honored during a ceremony scheduled for 7 p.m. Friday, May 10, and Keith and Proctor will be honored at a ceremony set for 9 a.m. Saturday, May 11. Both ceremonies will take place at Lloyd Noble Center.

“Through their exceptional talents, transformative leadership and unwavering commitment to serving others, each of this year’s Honorary Degree recipients has left an indelible mark on the world,” OU President Joseph Harroz Jr. said. “Their profound dedication has touched countless lives, and we take great pride in conferring the university’s highest honor upon them.”

For more information, click here.


Latest Stories

Free Concerts at Lake Ponca

This is going to be a great Summer! Join in on all the summer holiday fun...

New EMS Assistant Principal Named

Mark Kimbrell has been named the new assistant principal for the 2024-2025 school year at East...

Office Hours Change for Summer at NOC

Summer office hours started at Northern Oklahoma College this week. Office hours are 8 a.m. –...