Sen. Coleman named Senate Presiding Officer

Mike Seals - January 27, 2021 12:08 am

The presiding officer of the Senate is the person you see in the “big chair” when the Oklahoma State Senate is working on the Senate floor. The new presiding officers are Senator Bill Coleman and Senator Zack Taylor.

The Senate President Pro Tem names the senators who serve as presiding officers.

Pro Tem Senator Greg Treat met with the presiding officers Tuesday for a refresher on Senate rules and procedures ahead of the start of session next week. They also held a few practice rounds of floor work.

Former Senators Gary Stanislawski and Clark Jolley, presiding officers during their tenure, visited and offered some valuable knowledge. The returning presiding officers are Senator Julie Daniels, Senator Greg McCortney, Senator Lonnie Paxton, and Senator Brent Howard.



Latest Stories

New Awnings at Local Food Bank

  A team of volunteers recently partnered up to install fresh new outdoor awnings for the...

House Republicans want more Education Money in Budget

School Funding

OKLAHOMA CITY – Oklahoma House Republicans are pushing a significant education funding increase as a “must-have”...

Crackdown on Tobacco Tax Evasion Added to State Statute

OKLAHOMA CITY – The governor this week signed into a law a bill that creates the...