Rep. Ken Luttrell to Serve on National Caucus of Native American State Legislators

Beverly Cantrell - November 9, 2021 6:38 pm

OKLAHOMA CITY – Rep. Ken Luttrell, R-Ponca City, is elected to serve as a national officer and executive committee member for the National Caucus of Native American State Legislators (NCNASL). The elections were held at the NCNASL annual meeting in Tampa, FL on Nov. 5.

Luttrell will serve as Peacekeeper/Sgt. at Arms for the NCNASL. Also elected were Chair, Sen. Benny Shendo (Arizona), Vice Chair, Rep. Ruth Buffalo (North Dakota), Treasurer, Rep. Jonathon Windy Boy (Montana), and Secretary, Rep. Ajay Pittman (Oklahoma).

May be an image of one or more people, people standing, suit and indoor

Pictured from Left to Right:
Vice Chair Rep Ruth Buffalo (ND), Chair Sen Benny Shendo (AZ), Treasurer Rep Jonathon Windy Boy (MT), Secretary Rep Ajay Pittman (OK), Peacekeeper Rep Ken Lutrell (OK).

“I am honored to be selected to serve in a leadership role for the national caucus and look forward to working with our over 90 members representing Indian Country in legislatures across the United States,” Luttrell said. “It is an exciting opportunity to serve alongside such a diverse and talented group of fellow Native American legislator.

The NCNASL includes American Indian, Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian legislators from 20 states and provides a forum for discussion, education and increased communication about Native American issues. Established in 2005, NCNASL identifies barriers to achievement of a better quality of life for Native people and proposes legislation and administrative actions designed to eliminate them. They have a mission is to increase knowledge of the diverse Native American cultures in the United States, encouraging open dialogues, understanding and cooperation between state and Indian nation governments.

Luttrell is an enrolled member of the Cherokee Nation and serves as Co-Chair of the Oklahoma House Native American Caucus. He also serves as Vice Chair of the Economic Development and Telecommunications Committee of NCNASL.

Ken Luttrell represents District 37 in the Oklahoma House of Representatives, which includes parts of Kay and Osage counties.


Latest Stories

Moore Public Schools Bus Driver Arrested On DUI Complaint While Driving Bus

OKLAHOMA CITY – News 9 A Moore Public Schools bus driver was arrested Monday morning on...

Spirit Night Tuesday for Union Elementary

Ponca City Public Schools- PCPS will host a Spirit Night for Union Elementary at the first...

Vocal Music Concert Thursday

Ponca City Public Schools- The Vocal Music Departments of West Middle School, East Middle School, and...