President Trump declares disaster after October ice storm

Mike Seals - December 21, 2020 11:33 pm

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) — President Donald Trump officially declared a federal disaster on Monday for 13 Oklahoma counties battered by a late October ice storm.

The declaration means federal funding will now be available to state, tribal and local governments and some private nonprofits for storm-related costs, the White House said in a press release. The 13 counties are Caddo, Canadian, Cleveland, Dewey, Grady, Kingfisher, Kiowa, Logan, Noble, Oklahoma, Payne, Pottawatomie and Roger Mills. Gov. Kevin Stitt said damage estimates for those 13 counties resulted in an estimated $27 million in debris removal and other costs.

Stitt says the state is also working to have an additional 16 counties added to the declaration. As many as 500,000 Oklahoma homes and businesses lost power when the storm iced over trees that crashed through powerlines and blocked roadways.


Latest Stories

Pools Set to Open Soon in Ponca City

Now that schools out for the summer, pools are scheduled to open on Memorial Day, May...

PCPS Elementary Summer School Details Released

The district will be providing summer school for a limited number of students in grades K-3....

Tiger Woods Withdraws From 2022 PGA Championship

TULSA, Oklahoma –  Tiger Woods has withdrawn from the 2022 PGA Championship after three rounds on Saturday, according to...