OSU’s Dieringer, Smith awarded Big 12 wrestling honors

Ponca City Now - April 20, 2016 8:55 am

STILLWATER, Okla. (AP) – Three-time NCAA wrestling champion Alex Dieringer of Oklahoma State has been named the Big 12 Wrestler of the Year and OSU coach John Smith is the Big 12 Coach of the Year.

The awards were announced Monday.

Dieringer was 33-0 during his senior season and also was awarded the Dan Hodge Trophy as the top wrestler in the nation.

Smith is Coach of the Year after OSU won its 50th Big 12 title and finished second at the NCAA Championships. Seven Cowboys won Big 12 titles and Dieringer and Dean Heil each won national championships.


Latest Stories

Abmas scores 31, Oral Roberts routs South Dakota 103-53

TULSA, Okla. (AP) — Max Abmas scored 31 points, Oral Roberts pummeled South Dakota 103-53 on...

Wintry weather scrubs more than 1,000 flights in US

DALLAS (AP) — More than 1,000 flights were cancelled and many more delayed on Monday with...

WMS Class Creates Food Trucks

Students in Stacy Pinney’s teen living class at West Middle School recently had the responsibility of...