OSU Football Player Named Finalist

Ponca City Now - November 25, 2013 4:07 pm


Oklahoma City—The Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame announced today three finalists for the 2013 Jim Thorpe Award, given to the top defensive back in college football. The Thorpe Award is named after history’s greatest athlete, Jim Thorpe, and is presented by the Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame in Oklahoma City. Thorpe excelled at every sport in which he competed, including football where he played on the offensive and defensive side of the ball.

Jim Thorpe Award Finalists:

Darqueze Dennard, Sr. Michigan State – Dennard ranks among the Big Ten leaders in interceptions (4), pass break-ups (7) and passes defended (11), is one of the main reasons why Michigan State leads the Football Bowl Subdivision in total defense (236.6 ypg.) and ranks second in the FBS in pass efficiency defense (93.7 rating) and eighth in passing defense (177.3 ypg.). He ranks fifth on the team with 47 tackles, including two for losses (4 yards), and has one forced fumble. Dennard was also named a finalist for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy.

Justin Gilbert, Sr. Oklahoma State – Gilbert has six interceptions this season, a mark that leads the Big 12 and ranks fifth nationally. He has two pick-sixes on the year (at Iowa State and at Texas). Gilbert’s 11 career interceptions rank him 16th among all active players and his 25 career pass break-ups are the most for any Cowboy. Additionally, he has three non-offensive touchdowns this year; a 31-yard interception return at Iowa State, a 100-yard kickoff return vs. Kansas and a 43-yard interception return at Texas. He has eight non-offensive touchdowns in his career.

Lamarcus Joyner, Sr. Florida State – Joyner leads the No. 2 ranked Seminoles with five sacks and three forced fumbles, and also has 55 tackles, 6.5 tackles for loss, three pass breakups and an interception. He has started 38 games in his career and is the veteran leader of the nation’s fifth-ranked defense, second-ranked scoring defense and passing defense. Joyner’s signature performance came at then-No. 3 Clemson on Oct. 19 when he had eight solo tackles, one sack, an interception and forced two fumbles in the 51-14 Seminole victory. Joyner was also named a finalist for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy.

The three Jim Thorpe Award finalists will be highlighted on ESPNU during The Home Depot College Football Awards Nomination Special airing Tuesday, Nov. 26 at 4:30 p.m. (CT). The 30-minute show, hosted by Anish Shroff, will include player interviews and analysis from Charles Arbuckle surrounding finalists for the Thorpe Award and other members of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA).

This year’s Jim Thorpe Award winner will be revealed on ESPN during The Home Depot College Football Awards airing live from the Atlantic Dance Hall at Disney’s BoardWalk at the Walt Disney World Resort on Thursday, Dec. 12 at 6:00 p.m. (CT).

The Jim Thorpe Award Banquet will be held on Tuesday, February 4, 2014 in Oklahoma City, OK at the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum. Ticket and sponsorship questions should be directed to the Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame at 405.427.1400.

The Jim Thorpe Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast 678 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit www.NCFAA.org to learn more about our story.


Latest Stories

Construction Begins on Lincoln Elementary

Rick Scott Construction has started intensive construction at Lincoln Elementary. A new addition will be added...

19 Children, 2 Adults Dead In Texas School Shooting

UVALDE, Texas – THIS IS A BREAKING NEWS UPDATE.    Authorities say the victim death toll...

Tulsa Native Wins 2022 Ironman Triathlon

TULSA, Oklahoma –  A Tulsa man was first across the finish line for the 2022 Ironman Triathlon. Sam...