Ponca City, OK

Now: 71 °F

Currently: Cloudy

Hi: 82 °F | Lo: 68 °F


Hi: 84 °F 

Lo: 70 °F


Hi: 79 °F 

Lo: 61 °F


Hi: 73 °F 

Lo: 55 °F


Hi: 79 °F 

Lo: 58 °F


Hi: 82 °F 

Lo: 65 °F

Oklahoma Main Street announces 2018 board members of the year

Ponca City Now - May 9, 2018 3:01 pm

Members of the Ponca City Main Street Program at Tuesday night's banquet.

OKLAHOMA CITY —  The Oklahoma Main Street Center recognized 24 outstanding individuals Tuesday night during the 29th Annual Main Street Awards Banquet at the Embassy Suites Downtown Medical Center Hotel.

The Board Member of the Year was established to recognize the enormous commitment of the thousands of Main Street volunteers from across the state. One board member from each Main Street program is selected each year to be honored. These individuals are active in their local programs and have made exceptional commitments of time and energy to historic district revitalization during the past year.

“We know from experience that with enough people engaged in Main Street’s work, anything and everything is possible,” said Buffy Hughes, director of the Oklahoma Main Street Center. “The real strength of Main Street lies in the people that give of their time, share ideas and donate their dollars to implement positive change in their communities. We are honored to recognize this collective group of outstanding volunteers.”

The 2018 Oklahoma Main Street Board Members of the Year and their respective programs are:

  • Jim Lawson, Ada
  • Darren Cramer, Altus
  • Colin Chapman, Ardmore
  • John Ridgeway, Cherokee
  • Lou Flanagan, Claremore
  • Joe Sagi, Collinsville
  • Kevin Hammack, Duncan
  • Liz McCraw, Durant
  • Brooke Robertson, El Reno
  • Elizabeth Nicholas, Enid
  • Elgie Davis, Guymon
  • Kody Suanny, Hobart
  • Shae Tubbs, Idabel
  • Pat Treadway, Kendall Whittier
  • Christi John, McAlester
  • Jason Shanks, Newkirk
  • Kim Priegel, Okmulgee
  • Deah Stubbs, Perry
  • Cynthia Seaton, Prague
  • Rachel Stewart, Ponca City
  • Steven Burruss, Sapulpa
  • Richard Neal, Stockyards City
  • Linda Jordan, Tulsa Route 66
  • Reva Tyler, Wilburton

Congratulations to the 2018 recipients of the Main Street Board Member of the Year Award.

For more information about the Oklahoma Main Street Program, please call (405) 815-6552 or visit www.OKcommerce.gov/mainstreet.


Latest Stories

Oklahoma man charged in fatal shooting that left 2 dead

(Information from: Tulsa World, http://www.tulsaworld.com) TULSA, Okla. (AP) – Prosecutors in Tulsa say a 20-year-old man...

Official: Likely tornado destroys motel in Oklahoma

EL RENO, Okla. (AP) – The National Weather Service says that a likely tornado has destroyed...

US 77, US 60, and SH 156 closed in Kay County

The latest update from the Oklahoma Department of Transportation shows no road closings currently in Payne...