Oklahoma House Republicans elect caucus leaders

Ponca City Now - November 8, 2014 8:29 am

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) – Oklahoma House Republicans have elected their leadership team for the upcoming legislative session.

The House’s GOP caucus selected their leaders on Friday, three days after maintaining their 72-29 majority in the House.

Speaker Jeff Hickman was named speaker-elect for the upcoming session, which starts in February. Hickman is the seventh Republican speaker in state history and the sixth consecutive Republican speaker since the GOP became the House’s majority party in 2004.

The caucus chose state Rep. Lee Denney of Cushing as speaker pro tem-elect. Denney served as chair of the Appropriations and Budget Education Subcommittee for the past six years.

Representative David Brumbaugh of Broken Arrow was named caucus chairman, Reprsentative Elise Hall of Bethany was named caucus vice chairman and Rep. Katie Henke of Tulsa was named caucus secretary.


Latest Stories

Rep. Lucas : ‘I’m vaccinated … and you should be too’

TULSA, Okla. (KTUL) – Rep. Frank Lucas is urging Oklahomans to get vaccinated against COVID-19. In...

OU Children’s Hospital: children are becoming critically ill from COVID

OKLAHOMA CITY (KOKH) — As COVID-19 cases continue to climb across Oklahoma, officials say, this time around,...

COVID cases affecting participants at Falls Creek Church Camp

DAVIS, Okla. (KFOR) – The rise in COVID cases is affecting Falls Creek Church Camp. Brian...