Measure declaring Oklahoma as a Second Amendment Sanctuary State Approved

Mike Seals - March 9, 2021 11:39 pm

OKLAHOMA CITY – The Senate gave approval to the Second Amendment Sanctuary State Act on Tuesday, which would preempt the entire field of legislation by any agency or political subdivision of the state to infringe upon the Second Amendment rights of Oklahoma citizens.

Authored by Sen. Warren Hamilton, R-McCurtain, Senate Bill 631 states any federal, state, county or municipal act, law, executive order, administrative order, court order, rule, policy or regulation ordering the buy-back, confiscation or surrender of firearms, gun accessories or ammunition from law-abiding Oklahomans is an infringement against the right to keep and bear arms guaranteed by the United States Constitution.

“This measure builds a wall of protection around our Constitutionally-protected, God-given, blood-bought rights to keep and bear arms,” Hamilton said. “Declaring Oklahoma as a Second Amendment Sanctuary State is an important ‘win’ in our battle to reclaim and protect our individual liberties. I’m thankful for the support of my colleagues approving the bill, as well as the Oklahoma Second Amendment Association and Jews for the Preservation of Firearms Ownership for their crucial assistance in getting it passed.”

The measure is co-authored by Sen. Micheal Bergstrom, R-Adair; Sen. David Bullard, R-Durant; Sen. George Burns, R-Pollard; Sen. Nathan Dahm, R-Broken Arrow; Sen. Jessica Garvin, R-Duncan; Sen. Shane Jett, R-Shawnee; Sen. John Michael Montgomery, R-Lawton; Sen. Casey Murdock, R-Felt; Sen. Joe Newhouse, R-Tulsa; Sen. Roland Pederson, R-Burlington; Sen. Dewayne Pemberton, R-Muskogee; Sen. Cody Rogers, R-Tulsa; Sen. Rob Standridge, R-Norman; and Sen. Blake Stephens, R-Tahlequah.

SB 631 is also supported by 23 Oklahoma sheriffs, including: Chris Amason, Cleveland County; Dennis Banther, Kingfisher County; Michael Burgetski, Cimarron County; Jason Chennault, Cherokee County; Dan Day, Custer County; Rodney Derryberry, LaFlore County; Damon Devereaux, Logan County; Joe Harper, Payne County; BJ Hedgecock, Pushmataha County; William Ingram, Tillman County; Joe Janz, Kiowa County; Steve Kelley, Kay County; Roger LeVick, Jackson County; Wayne McKinney, Stephens County; Kevin Mitchell, Woodward County; Chris Morris, Pittsburg County; Landy Offolter, McClain County; Darin Reames, Major County; Tim Turner, Haskell County; Darrin Varnell, Pawnee County; Chris West, Canadian County; Jeremie Wilson, Jefferson County; and Adam Woodruff, Latimer County.

The measure now moves to the House of Representatives for further consideration. Rep. Sean Roberts, R-Hominy, is the principal House author. The measure is co-authored by Rep. Steve Bashore, R-Miami; Rep. Dean Davis, R-Broken Arrow; Rep. Jim Grego, R-Wilburton; Rep. David Hardin, R-Stillwell; Rep. Kevin McDugle, R-Broken Arrow; Rep. David Smith, R-Arpelar; and Rep. Kevin West, R-Moore.

For more information, contact: Sen. Warren Hamilton at 405-521-5604, or email [email protected].


Latest Stories

Report finds Colorado was built on $1.7 trillion of land expropriated from tribal nations

By GRAHAM LEE BREWER Associated Press (AP) — A report published this week by a Native...

Oklahoma man pleads not guilty in pipe bomb attack on Massachusetts group Satanic Temple

BOSTON (AP) — An Oklahoma man accused of throwing a pipe bomb at the Massachusetts headquarters...


The Transportation Security Administration is making changes to security at Will Rogers World Airport after an Edmond man was arrested...