Luttrell Comments on REAP Grants in Kay, Osage Counties

Ponca City Now - January 13, 2023 4:19 pm

Rep. Ken Luttrell, a Republican, serves District 37 in the Oklahoma House of Representatives, which includes parts of Kay and Osage Counties.

PONCA CITY, Okla.—Rep. Ken Luttrell, R-Ponca City, today commented on the awarding of over $450,000 in state Rural Economic Action Plan (REAP) funds to various projects in west Kay County and east Osage County.

“Investment in rural Oklahoma is an investment in the future of Oklahoma,” Luttrell said. “These grants will make a significant impact in our rural communities and in the lives of everyone living there by encouraging economic growth.”

Established in 1967, the Indian Nations Council of Governments (INCOG) is one of 11 Councils of Governments in the state. The organization provides planning and coordination services to assist in creating solutions to local and regional challenges in such areas as comprehensive planning, transportation, community and economic development, environmental quality and energy programs, public safety, and services for older adults.

INCOG serves Creek, Osage, Rogers, Tulsa and Wagoner counties, more than 50 cities and towns located in those counties, and the Cherokee, Muscogee, and Osage Nations.

The INCOG Board of Directors approved the following REAP grants in west Kay County and east Osage County:

  1. Town of Burbank – Street resurfacing – $141,559
  2. Town of Fairfax – Waterline replacement – $60,000
  3. City of Pawhuska – Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) REAP Streetscape – $136,364
  4. City of Shidler – Purchase of two generators and construction of three concrete pads for lift stations – $57,600
  5. Osage County/Braden RWS/SWM District #3 – Purchase and installation of new automatic meters – $60,000

The projects were ranked according to criteria established by INCOG’s REAP Policy Committee and approved by the INCOG Board of Directors. These criteria include need (based on growth and population), fiscal capacity (based on data from the Oklahoma Tax Commission), local effort, regional objectives and other data.

Rep. Ken Luttrell, a Republican, represents House District 37 in the Oklahoma House of Representatives. His district includes east Kay County and west Osage County


Latest Stories

Pawhuska Police Department Working With OSBI and OBN Testing Suckers and Rock Candy: Release Statement

Pawhuska, Okla.-The Pawhuska Police Department is working with OSBI and OBN to conduct more extensive testing...

Board of Equalization Certifies Revenue

The state Board of Equalization met last week certifying revenue the Legislature will have to appropriate...

Pioneer Tech Announces February Students of the Month

Pioneer Tech proudly announces Ethan Vap and Joey Ryan as the February Students of the Month....