Governor extends state of emergency

Ponca City Now - April 7, 2016 8:49 am

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) – Oklahoma Governor Mary Fallin has declared state of emergency in 10 new counties to aid local jurisdictions affected by wildfires.

Fallin on Wednesday amended an executive order from March declaring a state of emergency in Woods County. The 10 new counties covered by the order are Alfalfa, Blaine, Creek, Dewey, Garfield, Grant, Harper, Logan, Major and Woodward.

The previous state of emergency remains active in Woods County.

The declaration enables state agencies to make emergency purchases to quickly assist local jurisdictions that have been affected by damaging events like wildfires. A statement from Fallin’s office says the order is also "the first step" enabling farmers and ranchers to seek federal aid, if needed.


Latest Stories

Governor Signs Abortion Legislation in Ceremony

OKLAHOMA CITY – Gov. Kevin Stitt was joined Tuesday by lawmakers for a ceremonial signing of House...

OSDH: Over 950 hospitalizations for COVID-19 in Oklahoma

OKLAHOMA CITY (KFOR) – Officials say there are, on average, 954 hospitalizations for COVID-19 in Oklahoma...

Oklahoma COVID-19 Update for 5 August 2021

Situation Update: COVID-19 Data shown are preliminary and subject to change as additional information is obtained...