Five officials selected for 2017 induction into the Oklahoma Hall of Fame for City and Town Officials

Team Radio Marketing Group - August 8, 2017 11:40 am

Five officials representing a wide range of experiences will be inducted Sept. 14 into the Oklahoma Hall of Fame for City and Town Officials.

The black-tie optional hall of fame induction ceremony will be at the Tulsa Convention Center in Tulsa in conjunction with the Annual Conference Banquet for the Oklahoma Municipal League.

They will become the 56th through 60th inductees into the Oklahoma Hall of Fame since 2001.

Those to be inducted this year were recently announced by the Oklahoma Hall of Fame for City and Town Officials Foundation, which is supported by eight organizations of Oklahoma municipal government officials or service organizations.

Those to be inducted on September 14 are:

Marilyn Kay Andrews, Former Mayor (deceased), Ponca City
Elaine Grace Carr, Mayor, West Siloam Springs
Mick Cornett, Mayor, Oklahoma City
Michael R. “Mike” Nunneley, Town Administrator, Mannford
Drake Rice, Former City Manager, Cushing (Asst.), Prague and Blackwell

Formed in 1999, the Oklahoma Hall of Fame for City and Town Officials Foundation recognizes individuals for outstanding achievements or contributions to city and town government.  To be selected, an honoree must make significant contributions to Oklahoma local government, through their positive spirit of public service, with unquestioned ethics.

The website  highlights the careers of each inductee in the past 15 years.  Visitors to the website are able to navigate through biographies, video and photo features about each inductee.

The Oklahoma Hall of Fame Foundation is supported by the Oklahoma Municipal League, The Mayors Council of Oklahoma, the City Management Association of Oklahoma, the Municipal Electric Systems of Oklahoma, the Oklahoma Municipal Assurance Group, the Oklahoma Municipal Retirement Fund, the Oklahoma Municipal Power Authority and the Oklahoma Municipal Clerks, Treasurers and Finance Officials Association.

The 55 past inductees based on their residence when inducted include:
Ada – Charles E. Spencer
Bixby – Joe Williams;
Braman – Jerry Johnston;
Broken Arrow – James C. Reynolds;
Chickasha – Robert J. Hicks;
Clinton – Glendenne Goucher;
Duncan – Eugene Brown;
Edmond – Cindy Shattuck, Don Bown, Charles Lamb, William A. Moyer, Carl Reherman, Donald C. Rider and Kevin McCullough;
El Reno – Tony Rivera
Frederick – Robert B. Johnston and Wanda Jo Evaige;
Guymon – Jess Nelson;
Hobart – Thomas Talley;
Jenks – Randy Ewing;
Norman – Anthony M. Francisco, David Morgan, PhD, and Larry J. Shelton;
Midwest City – Tommy Melton;
Oklahoma City – James Couch, James G. Hamill, Patience Sewell Latting, Leon E. Nelson, Gary Marrs, Zach Taylor, Jr., Stephen E. Reel, Gerald Wilkins and Michael Crawford;
Ponca City – Gary D. Martin and Homer Nicholson;
Prague – Harold Pumford;
Sand Springs – Mike Burdge
Santa Fe, NM – Shane Woolbright
Seminole – Edward Smith
Shawnee – Mary Ann Karns, Terry Powell and Bertha Ann Young;
Stillwater – Ernest R. Dirks, Lawrence Lee Gish and Lawrence O. Hansen;
The Village – Stanley Alexander;
Tonkawa – John Ramey;
Tulsa – Robert LaFortune and Susan Savage;
Walters – Albert Veltema;
Watonga – Leroy Lage;
Weatherford – Tony Davenport, George Wilkinson and Mike Brown;
Woodward – Alan Riffel.

Tickets for the Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony and banquet are $45 each available from the Oklahoma Municipal League by calling 405-528-7515 or by email to [email protected] .


Latest Stories

Thunder fall to Mavs in NBA playoffs 117-116, after pair of P.J. Washington free throws

By SCHUYLER DIXON AP Sports Writer DALLAS (AP) — Kyrie Irving probably wondered if his uncanny...

Ponca City resident injured in collision on US 60

The Oklahoma Highway Patrol reported that a personal injury collision occurred at about 3:00 a.m. on...

Top-seeded Thunder on the verge of series loss to Mavs

By SCHUYLER DIXON AP Sports Writer DALLAS (AP) — A kinder, gentler Luka Doncic has the...