Fallin declares weather emergency in 7 counties

Ponca City Now - April 2, 2016 11:10 am

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) – Governor Mary Fallin has declared a state of emergency in seven northeastern Oklahoma counties hit by tornadoes, severe storms and straight-line winds.

Fallin issued the declaration Friday for Craig, Mayes, Nowata, Osage, Rogers, Tulsa and Washington counties.

Severe storms damaged homes and businesses and injured seven people Wednesday evening. A 14-year-old girl was hospitalized with head and back injuries after a tree hit the vehicle in which she was traveling. One adult and two other children in the vehicle were treated and released.

Damage assessments are ongoing in some areas. Under the executive order, state agencies can make emergency purchases and acquisitions they need to expedite delivery of resources to local jurisdictions.

Fallin’s order is in effect for 30 days and could be amended to include additional counties if needed.


Latest Stories

19-Year-Old’s Body Recovered near Lake Texoma

The body of 19-year-old Julian “JJ” Olley was recovered by Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation (OSBI)...

Stillwater Man Injured in Payne County Wreck

21-year-old Bailey Miller of Stillwater had to be taken by MediFlight to OU Medical Center in...

Bush Supports DHS Director’s New Service-First Model

OKLAHOMA CITY – State Rep. Carol Bush, R-Tulsa, today commented on the Service-First model announced by...