Dr. Cheryl Evans Among Inductees to the 2023 Oklahoma Higher Education Hall of Fame

Ponca City Now - July 27, 2023 6:12 am

Cheryl Evans

Former Northern Oklahoma College President Dr. Cheryl Evans is among 12 inductees into Oklahoma Higher Education Hall of Fame in 2023.
The Oklahoma Higher Education Heritage Society will induct Evans and 11 others on Nov. 6 in the Nigh University Center’s Grand Ballroom at the University of Central Oklahoma. The cost is $100 per person, $950 per table, with tickets available starting in late September.
This year’s inductees include:
• Dr. Terry D. Britton, president of Rose State College, 2006-2013;
• Dr. Cheryl Evans, president of Northern Oklahoma College, 2011-2021;
• Dr. Pamela Martin Fry, president of Oklahoma State University-Tulsa, 2019-2022;
• J. Loy “Jay” Helm, chairman of American Residential Group and Oklahoma State Regent for Higher Education, 2013-2022;
• Dr. James Hess, current vice provost for graduate programs at the Oklahoma State University Center for Health Sciences;
• Dr. Adolph Linscheid, president of East Central University, 1920-1949;
• Joseph L. Parker, Jr., chairman of Anchor Stone, and Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education since 2005;
• Dr. William Radke, provost and vice president of academic affairs at the University of Central Oklahoma, 2005-2013;
• Liesa Richter, JD, Floyd & Martha Norris chair in law and George Lynn Cross research professor at the University of Oklahoma College of Law;
• Dr. Jeanetta Davis Sims, professor and dean emeritus, Jackson College of Graduate Studies at UCO;
• Dr. John Cameron Muhlenberg Starkey, late professor at the Wimberly School of Religion, Oklahoma City University;
• Dr. Steve Turner, president of Northeastern State University’s since 2012.
The Oklahoma Higher Education Heritage Society was established in 1991 as a nonprofit to support awareness of higher education’s vital role in Oklahoma history and honor individuals, living and deceased, for outstanding service to higher education in the state. Since its establishment in 1994, the society has inducted almost 300 educators, administrators, and others who have made distinguished contributions to higher education into the Oklahoma Higher Education Hall of Fame.
To be eligible for consideration, nominees must have been employed full-time by an institution or institutions of higher education in Oklahoma as a faculty member, administrator, or staff for a minimum of ten years and demonstrated excellence in scholarship, teaching, research, administration, outreach, or public service, or any combination thereof, and in doing so brought honor and distinction to Oklahoma higher education. In addition, individuals who have performed meritorious service to higher education within the state may be considered for induction.
Donations to OHEHS in honor of a 2023 OHEHS Hall of Fame inductee can be made through the website and will be printed in the program if made before October 1, 2023.
For more information, contact Dr. Donna Castle Richardson, OHEHS Executive Director, 19400 Stubblefield Lanes, Edmond, Oklahoma 73012 or [email protected].

Latest Stories

No. 16 Oklahoma beats Cincinnati 20-6 in Bearcats’ Big 12 debut

By KEITH JENKINS Associated Press CINCINNATI (AP) — Cincinnati got its first taste of Big 12...

Kendarin Ray intercepts a pass with 26 seconds left to help Tulsa hold off Northern Illinois 22-14

DEKALB, Ill. (AP) — Anthony Watkins rushed for 91 yards and a touchdown, Kendarin Ray intercepted...

Ponca City woman injured in collision north of town

The Oklahoma Highway Patrol reported that a personal injury collision occurred at about 10:38 a.m. on...