Counties added to aid request

Ponca City Now - June 24, 2015 8:52 am

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) – Gov. Mary Fallin and the Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management are asking the Federal Emergency Management Agency for individual disaster assistance in 26 more counties because of tornadoes and flooding that began May 5.

The counties added Tuesday are Adair, Blaine, Cherokee, Coal, Delaware, Dewey, Garfield, Garvin, Greer, Harmon, Haskell, Hughes, Jackson, Kay, Lincoln, Logan, Love, Major, Murray, Muskogee, Osage, Ottawa, Pawnee, Roger Mills, Sequoyah and Washita. FEMA previously approved individual assistance for 24 counties and 11 other counties are awaiting approval.

If approved, assistance would be available for housing repairs or temporary housing, low-interest loans for individuals and businesses, disaster unemployment assistance, and grants for disaster expenses not met by other programs.

FEMA also previously approved public assistance funds for municipalities, counties and rural electric cooperatives in 54 counties.


Latest Stories

OU honors defensive stars Selmon brothers with statue

NORMAN, Okla. (AP) — The University of Oklahoma dedicated a statue honoring the Selmon brothers —...

Martinez runs for 4 TDs, K-State stuns No. 6 Sooners 41-34

NORMAN, Okla. (AP) — Kansas State quarterback Adrian Martinez ran for 148 yards and four touchdowns,...

Staffing shortages, violence plague Oklahoma prisons

HOLDENVILLE, Okla. (AP) — With one of the highest incarceration rates in the country, Oklahoma has...