Cleveland County Commissioners Vote Against Proposed Turnpike Expansion

News 9 - April 5, 2022 10:15 am

NORMAN, Oklahoma – 

Cleveland County commissioners voted no on the proposed Kickapoo turnpike expansion, saying they can’t condone the plan.

The commissioners say they are concerned about the impact this will have on residents in the path of the construction, as well as wildlife, the watershed of Lake Thunderbird, unique geological formations and transportation.

In their resolution, Cleveland County commissioners say they want the Oklahoma Turnpike Authority to show transparency in all studies conducted on this plan of expansion.

Another hit for the turnpike expansion project comes from a Norman state Senator, who is preparing a legislative attempt at removing the Oklahoma Turnpike Authority’s ability to construct the new toll roads.

Even though this bill has nothing to do with Cleveland County, Sen. Mary Boren told News 9 Monday she is preparing an amendment for House Bill 4088.

The bill is authored by Rep. Kevin Wallace of Wellston.

“We have a value system statewide that is bipartisan to not just continue to build toll roads until we have a plan to pay off the ones we’ve already built,” said Sen. Boren.

A spokesperson for the Oklahoma Turnpike Authority said they have no plans for the construction of a northern Kickapoo extension.

They said all their focus is on ACCESS Oklahoma, which is the 15-year plan for those new routes in Norman.


Latest Stories

Infrastructure plan: $33M to clean up hundreds of oil wells

NEW ORLEANS (AP) — The Biden administration says $33 million in infrastructure money will be used...

Legal challenge filed to stop Oklahoma anti-abortion bill

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) — A group of abortion providers in Oklahoma has filed a legal challenge...

Stitt seeks expungement of critical jury report

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) — Oklahoma Gov. Kevin Stitt is asking a state judge to expunge a...