Bolen and Burtrum Appointed to State Ag Board

Mike Seals - May 11, 2020 10:17 pm

Brent Bolen and Clay Burtrum Appointed to State Board of Agriculture

OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla.Governor Kevin Stitt has appointed and the Oklahoma Senate has confirmed Clay Burtrum, Stillwater, and Brent Bolen, Idabel, as members of the State Board of Agriculture.

Burtrum, representing the northeast district, is a commercial cow-calf producer from Stillwater who is versed in supporting the beef industry. He has gained experience while working with one of the nation’s biggest feed yards and now owns and operates an agriculture accounting and consulting firm specializing in agricultural operations.

Burtrum is devoted to promoting agriculture and has held many leadership roles including serving on the Oklahoma Beef Council, Oklahoma Cattlemen’s Association, and National Cattlemen’s Beef Association Interium Federation Division Vice-Chair.

Bolen, representing the southeast district, is also no stranger to supporting Oklahoma agriculture, as he and his family are chicken, cattle and hay producers. His company, Bolen Farms, is a contract poultry producer for Tyson Foods in McCurtain County and operates multiple poultry broiler houses.

Bolen is an advocate for Oklahoma producers and has served on the Oklahoma Agriculture Advisory Committee, Vice President of the McCurtain County Farm Bureau and president of the Idabel School Board.

“These two gentlemen bring extensive knowledge and perspective to the State Board of Agriculture,” said Blayne Arthur, Oklahoma Secretary of Agriculture. “I am confident their industry background will prove to be instrumental in enhancing Oklahoma agriculture.”

Bolen and Burtrum will succeed Ed Hurliman, Broken Bow, a registered forester with more than 40 years of experience in managing privately-held land for wood products and wildlife-based recreational purposes, and Jay Franklin, Vinita, a row crop and wheat farmer, respectively.

“Ed Hurliman and Jay Franklin have been active, involved and conscientious about their service to the Board,” said Sec. Arthur. “We extend a sincere thank you to both of them for their exceptional service to the state.”


Latest Stories

State Election Board Offers Tips, Reminders for Oklahoma

(Oklahoma City) – Voters head to the polls Tuesday for the statewide primary and several nonpartisan...

NOC Arts and Adventure Camp July 18-21

Application are still being accepted for the 31st Arts Adventure Summer Camp at Northern Oklahoma College...

Oklahoma Falls To Ole Miss 4-2, Rebels Claim National Title

The Ole Miss Rebels won its first-ever Men’s National Championship in baseball after defeating the Sooners 4-2 in Game 2...