Bigger Big 12: BYU, UCF, Cincinnati, and Houston on the way

The Associated Press - September 11, 2021 8:32 am

(AP) — The Big 12 has added four new members. BYU, UCF, Cincinnati, and Houston have formally accepted invitations to join the league. The Big 12 has moved quickly after learning it will lose Oklahoma and Texas to the Southeastern Conference no later than July 2025.

BYU says all of its sports will begin Big 12 schedules in the 2023-24 athletic season.

The other three schools compete in the American Athletic Conference. That league requires 27 months’ notice for schools that want to leave, which means that those schools will join the Big 12 no later than July 1st, 2024.


Latest Stories

Infrastructure plan: $33M to clean up hundreds of oil wells

NEW ORLEANS (AP) — The Biden administration says $33 million in infrastructure money will be used...

Legal challenge filed to stop Oklahoma anti-abortion bill

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) — A group of abortion providers in Oklahoma has filed a legal challenge...

Stitt seeks expungement of critical jury report

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) — Oklahoma Gov. Kevin Stitt is asking a state judge to expunge a...